The news is full of updates about how certain states are legalizing marijuana and how using marijuana has become more mainstream and socially acceptable. However, that doesn’t mean you can possess it just anywhere without serious consequences. In states like Louisiana, you’ll need an aggressive criminal defense attorney to help you reduce or drop the life-altering charges for marijuana possession.
In Louisiana, marijuana possession is a serious offense. While many states have legalized marijuana or reduced charges for possession to a ticket offense, FindLaw reports that Louisiana has some of the toughest drug laws in the country. Marijuana possession in Louisiana can land you in jail for up to 15 days and can lead to fines of up to $300. If you are found in Louisiana with more than 14 grams of marijuana, you can face up to 6 months in jail.
Many people are not aware that in Louisiana, marijuana is placed in the same legal category as heroin, marijuana, LSD, and other substances like ecstasy. The penalties for drug charges or possession charges in Louisiana will depend on the type of drugs you are charged with possessing. Louisiana divides drugs into five “schedules.” Schedule 1 is the most serious. Marijuana is considered a “Schedule 1” drug, placing it in the same category as the topmost dangerous drugs.
What Are the Consequences for Marijuana Possession?
The specific penalties for each Schedule 1 substance charge varies by the amount and the type of drug you possessed, and the consequences can be quite serious. You could face up to 30 years in prison, fines of up to $600,000. Narcotic possession carries the highest penalties, but possession of marijuana can also lead to jail time and serious fines too. And the consequences don’t stop at fines and jail time. Drug Possession Laws warns that charges for simply possessing drugs have other collateral consequences. Having a drug conviction on your public record can have serious repercussions when it comes to employment opportunities, approvals for loans, and more.
What Should You Do If You’re Charged with Marijuana Possession?
The best thing to do is to contact an experienced defense criminal lawyer to help you navigate the hurdles of marijuana laws in Louisiana. Remember that if you are arrested, you have the right to remain silent until speaking to a lawyer. You also are not legally obligated to consent to a search without a warrant. Before getting in touch with your attorney, you can simply tell police officers that you cannot answer any questions without legal representation.
An experienced criminal defense attorney can help you sort out your case and fight to get charges reduced or dropped if possible. If you have questions about your case in Baton Rouge, LA or need help defending your rights, don’t hesitate to contact Miller, Hampton & Hilgendorf. Call 225-343-2205 or contact us online for a free case evaluation.
3960 Government St.
Baton Rouge, LA 70806