It’s true that Louisiana does have some strange laws, including “No reptiles within 200 feet of a Mardi Gras parade” and “No surprising a friend with a pizza delivery (you don’t want to risk the $500 fine on that one). But when it comes to traffic laws, Louisiana’s laws are pretty straight forward.
However, while most drivers are aware of the state’s most common traffic violations, many people might be surprised to hear how serious the penalties are.
According to DrivingLaws, exceeding Louisiana’s “absolute speed limit law,” can result in penalties such as:
A fine of up to $175
A sentence to jail time of up to 30 days
License suspension of up to a year
#2: Reckless Driving:
You might think that reckless driving means swerving carelessly in and out of traffic on a fast highway, but in Louisiana, it can mean simply going 15 mph or more over the posted speed limit. DrivingLaws states that this automatic categorization of reckless driving can result in severe penalties, even for first-time offenders:
Fines of up to $200
Jail sentences for up to 90 days
License suspension for up to one year
Required traffic school attendance
#3: Running a Red Light
According to CalculateMe, this is one of the most common traffic violations in the nation! And according to DrivingLaws, Louisiana can fine violators anywhere from $175 to $350!
How Penalties are Recorded
Unlike other states, Louisiana traffic violations aren’t based on a point system. Instead, traffic violations you’re charged with appear on your driving record. As you accumulate additional or different traffic violations, you will be subject to penalties. In addition, some violations are considered so severe that violators might be subject to serious penalties right away, no matter how clean their driving records are. Additional consequences of having traffic violations on your driving record include higher insurance rates. If you accumulate too many moving traffic violations, your driving record might result in insurance companies charging you extra.
Have You Been Charged Unfairly With a Traffic Violation?
This is just the tip of the iceberg when it comes to Louisiana’s many traffic laws and the resulting penalties. Have you been charged with a traffic violation? Maybe you feel you were cited unfairly, or that the violation wasn’t your fault. It can feel overwhelming when you consider the possible financial penalties, jail time, and removal of driving privileges. But remember, you and your loved ones have the right to remain silent when questioned by the police. You can instead immediately call an experienced traffic law and criminal defense attorney to help you navigate the complex legal system and achieve justice for your case! Don’t hesitate to contact the compassionate legal team at Miller, Hampton & Hilgendorf by calling us at 225-343-2205 or sending us a message online today for more info! We’re here for you, your family, and your future!
Miller, Hampton & Hilgendorf
3960 Government St.
Baton Rouge, LA 70806