With so many individuals planning to spend the upcoming holidays out celebrating with friends and family, the rideshare company Lyft and the Governors Highway Safety Association have taken the initiative and partnered up together to help curb drunk driving [Source: Shreveport Times]. While it is understandable that this is the time of year to kick back, relax, and enjoy the company of those we love, never is it okay to get behind the wheel intoxicated. And with police preparing for the holidays and upping the number of officers that will be out patrolling the roads, the last thing you need is to get pulled over and arrested for DWI.
So, here’s what you need to know about Lyft’s holiday offer and why you should consider requesting a ride from a rideshare company rather than risk your life and your freedom just to drive yourself home while under the influence of alcohol.
When will Lyft begin offering the holiday discount?
The company is now offering their $5 off a ride discount and will continue to offer it through January 1st. The code that can be used once you download the free Lyft app and request a ride is “RIDESMARTLA.” You will be able to take advantage of this offer between the hours of 6:00 p.m. and 6:00 a.m. which is when most people are heading out to their holiday events and returning back home. Lyft will also be offering the discounted service in Baton Rouge, Lafayette, Lake Charles, Monroe, New Orleans, and Shreveport so if you plan on attending an event outside of Baton Rouge, you should be able to hail a ride to get back home and still get $5 off your ride.
The news source says that “Louisiana is one of just five states that received funding through Lyft and the Governors Highway Safety Association to support campaigns that deter impaired driving [over] the holidays.” Aside from Lyft offering this discounted ride, they have also partnered up with the Louisiana Highway Safety Commission (LHSC) to “support social media efforts throughout the state to get the word out about the dangers of impaired driving.” LHSC Executive Director Lisa Freeman said that “We want people to have a good time during the holidays, but we want to celebrate with family and friends in a responsible manner.” She also went on to state that her hope is that “people will download the app and take advantage of this offer to rideshare as an alternative to driving.”
One of the main reasons why so many individuals choose to drive drunk is because they have done it in the past and managed to make it home in one piece. Did you know that the “average drunk driver drives over 80 times before their 1st arrest” [Source: Mothers Against Drunk Driving]? Although you might be under the impression that the one drink you did decide to have or those you consumed hours ago have worn off, it is better to be safe than sorry and make alternate plans for you to get home.
Whether that means you request a ride from Lyft or Uber, or you have a sober friend or family member take you home, that is solely up to you. However, it is always recommended that you refrain from getting behind the wheel of your vehicle after having consumed any amounts of alcohol.
What should I do if I was arrested for the first time for DWI in Baton Rouge?
If you were recently arrested for driving while intoxicated in Baton Rouge and you aren’t sure what penalties you are facing or if you can fight your charges, contact the LA DWI defense lawyers at Miller, Hampton & Hilgendorf to obtain all the answers to the questions that you have. Our attorneys have helped hundreds of clients just like you become more informed on their charges and even fight them so that you aren’t faced with such harsh penalties. Therefore, if you are ready to speak with a DWI lawyer to get all your concerns addressed, contact us now at 225-343-2205.
You can reach Miller, Hampton & Hilgendorf at:
3960 Government Street
Baton Rouge, LA 70806